Main / Oceanarium / About us / Exposition / Sea Mammals

Морские млекопитающие

The story of seals appearance in the Oceanarium is very extraordinary. On the 8th of April 2007 (at Eastertide!) there was a call made to the Oceanarium. “I found out a small seal. And I do not know what to do with it. Please, help!” That was Alexey Groshev, a citizen of Lomonosov City, who discovered and picked up a grey seal between railway stations “Bronka” and “Dubochki”. On the 14th of April the seal was delivered to the Oceanarium for veterinary examination. Based on the examination made by the Oceanarium’s specialists a conclusion was made that the animal was a female of grey Baltic seal suffering from exhaustion and requiring medical help and therefore it could not be freed. The weight of a small seal comprised 7.32 kg only and its length was 52 cm. Thus, after numerous hardships our first seal found its new warm house. We gave the name of Uma to the seal. The name is derived from the word “umnaya” (clever) since the seal turned out to be very smart. Uma had to spend a lot of time in the certified quarantine zone of the Oceanarium under constant twenty-four-hour control of our specialists. In the course of time its wounds closed and a pilage appeared on their places. All employees of the Oceanarium gave heart to Uma sincerely.
In order for Uma not to get bored two more grey Baltic seals with names of Dasha and Gosha appeared in the Oceanarium soon. They were born in April 2007 in the Lithuanian Sea Museum in Klaipeda City. They were bred there after their birth until September. Afterwards they were transported in special cages by air to the Oceanarium.
Why are the seals shown in the Oceanarium behind the glass? The matter is that these animals need the specific “sanitary” microclimate; they are very prone to respiratory infections and catch pneumonia very often. There is a special intake ventilation functioning behind the glass, where the seals are kept, which creates some excessive pressure. The conditions, under which the seals are kept, are at the most comfortable for the animals, since they are very similar to the habitat.
A special group of divers-trainers, who have passed through the advanced training in biology, behavior features and veterinary medicine, are working with the seals. One can see the seal show in the Oceanarium twice per day. In spite of the fact that they are still very small, the seals can execute more than 20 commands. The Oceanarium’s plans are to prepare the unique underwater show with the seals with no analogue in the world.
Come and see everything yourself. We are waiting for you at the Oceanarium!


Название фотографии
x
Сброс
пн
вт
ср
чт
пт
сб
вс
Сделано в Alter Consulting

Главная / Океанариум / О нас / Экспозиция / Морские млекопитающие

Морские млекопитающие

История появления морских млекопитающих в океанариуме очень необычна. 8 апреля 2007 года (в Пасху!) в океанариуме раздался телефонный звонок – «Я нашел маленького тюленя. Что делать – не знаю. Помогите, пожалуйста!» Звонил житель города Ломоносов Грошев Алексей Геннадьевич, который обнаружил и подобрал между станциями «Бронка» и «Дубочки» серого тюленя.. 14 апреля 2007 г. тюлень был доставлен в океанариум для ветеринарного обследования. На основании данного обследования, проведенного специалистами Океанариума, было сделано заключение, что тюлень является самкой серого балтийского тюленя, находится в сильной степени истощения, нуждается в медицинской помощи и поэтому не может быть выпущен на волю. Вес маленького тюленя составлял всего 7,32 кг, длина - 52 см. Так, после многочисленных невзгод, наш первый тюлень нашел свой новый добрый дом. Мы назвали тюленя Умой – от слова «умная», потому что она оказалась очень смышленой. Долгое время Ума находилась в сертифицированной карантинной зоне океанариума под постоянным, круглосуточным наблюдением специалистов. Со временем ее раны зарубцевались, на их месте появился меховой покров. Уму в океанариуме по-настоящему полюбили все сотрудники.

Что бы Уме было не скучно, вскоре в Океанариуме появились еще морские млекопитающие - два серых балтийских тюленя, которых назвали Дашей и Гошей. Они родились в апреле 2007 года в Литовском музее моря в городе Клайпеда. Там же содержались после рождения до сентября. А затем в специальных клетках, на самолете прилетели к нам в океанариум.

Почему в океанариуме тюлени – за стеклом? Дело в том, что эти морские млекопитающие нуждаются в определенном «санитарном» микроклимате, – они очень подвержены воздушно-капельным инфекциям, часто болеют воспалением легких. За стеклом, где содержатся тюлени, функционирует специальная приточная вентиляция, которая создает избыточное давление. Условия, в которых содержатся тюлени - максимально комфортны для них, они очень похожи на те, в которых они живут в природе.

С тюленями работает специальная группа водолазов-тренеров, прошедших биологическую и ветеренарную подготовку. Два раза в день в океанариуме можно увидеть шоу с тюленями. Несмотря на юный возраст, тюлени уже выполняют более 20 команд. 

Приходите, и вы сами все увидите. До встречи в Океанариуме!

Морские млекопитающие. Фотографии.

   

Название фотографии
x
Сброс
пн
вт
ср
чт
пт
сб
вс
Сделано в Alter Consulting